## The Common Table for Church Vitality The Virginia Annual Conference

August 19, 2020

The Common Table met on August 19, 2020 by Zoom. Members taking part in the meeting were:

Rev. Ted Smith (Director of Connectional Ministries and Chair)

Mr. Warren Harper (Conference Lay Leader)

Rev. Steven Summers (Cabinet Representative)

Mr. John Dunning (Board of Higher Education and Campus Ministries)

Rev. Lyle Morton (Commission on Ethnic Minority Concerns and

Advocacy Representative)

Ms. Unsil Choi (2020)

Rev. Jonathan Page (2020)

Dr. Carlos Liceaga (2021)

Rev. Ashley Isernhagen (2022)

Ms. Kimberly Young (2023)

Rev. Megan Saucier (2023)

Rev. Don Jamieson (2024)

Ms. Terry Bain (2024)

Rev. Susan Reaves (Annual Conference Secretary, without vote)

Also present was Ms. Bev Myers, Executive Assistant in the office of Director of Connectional Ministries. Unable to attend were Bishop Sharma Lewis, Mr. David Dommisse, Rev. Harold White and Ms. Susie Wolf.

Chairperson Ted Smith opened the meeting at 10:10 a.m. with a word of welcome. It was noted that the ability to record was not available. Devotions were led by Rev. Smith using an excerpt from the Upper Room from August 19, 2020. Cletus L. Hull focused on Matthew 5:16, "Let your light shine before others, that they may see your good deeds

and glorify your father in heaven." Mr. Hull described how he spreads the good news of Jesus Christ by being interested in others.

A motion was made and seconded to approve the minutes from the August 5, 2020 with corrections. The motion was approved.

Rev. Ted Smith reported that there would be a new configuration of the sub-committees of the Common Table. The Bishop's Steering Team is being reconfigured. Rev. Smith invited members of the Common Table who felt led to contact him about becoming part of this group.

This visioning group will be one of three subcommittees for the Common Table. The Grants Committee will be merged together with the Program Committee. The third subcommittee is the Personal Committee. Currently, the Personnel Committee members include Rev. Steve Summers and Ms. Kimberly Young, Rev. Ashley Isernhagen and Rev. Don Jamison. Ms. Shirley Cauffman has stepped down as Personnel Committee chair.

Rev. Smith proposed Ms. Young take over as chair of the personnel committee. Her leadership was affirmed by all committee members present. Dr. Carlos Liceaga will be the chair of the revised Grant/Programs committee. Rev. Isernhagen and Dr. Liceaga will have a conversation about grants and programs and then release information to the Conference. Martha Stokes will come in as the new conference lay leader after Annual Conference.

The Conference hiring freeze will end on September 1, 2020. Currently there are five positions that need to be filed: two associate directors' positions, one assistant director, a digital specialist which replaces the old position of videographer and a new administrative assistant. Filling these positions will be the work of the Personnel Committee. A detailed description of each positions has been emailed to members of the Common Table.

There was a review of the way the Common Table and the Personnel Committee interact. The Common Table discusses staffing needs. The Personnel Committee receives this information and engages in whatever process is necessary to respond to the needs expressed. Personnel then brings a report back to the Common Table. The Common Table takes the final step in deciding whether or not to affirm the recommendation of the Personnel committee. It was noted that anything discussed by personnel that is highly sensitive and confidential cannot be disclosed to the Common Table.

After some discussion it was suggested that more information about the hiring process for the Associate and Assistant positions be communicated to the Annual Conference for the sake of clarity. The Personnel committee will decide on what to communicate and when to begin the interview and hiring process. This information may be included in the annual conference addendum sent out prior to Conference.

Rev. Smith reported that the Edley-Worford lawsuit has been settled. Due to a non-disclosure agreement no other information may be disclosed.

The Committee looked over the last of the proposed Common Table Charter revisions. It was noted that VIII.E. is redundant. Section VIII.C. is the only section that lifts up a specific staff position. Rev. Ashley Isernhagen made a motion to remove these two sections from the proposed revision of the Charter. The motion was seconded and approved.

Rev. Isernhagen moved that under Values section I. C. we adopt the following value, "Advocate for justice and non-discrimination for all." The motion was seconded and approved.

There was discussion concerning the suggestion that the Common Table have someone apart from the Director of Connectional Ministries (DCM) and the Lay Leader preside at meetings. Under section VI Officers the DCM is the chair and the Conference Lay Leader Common Table for Church Vitality

August 19, 2020

is designated as vice-chair. Rev. Isernhagen moved, in Section VI, following the sentence, "The Conference Lay Leader is the Vice Chairperson." the insertion of the sentence "The meetings may be led by the Director of Connectional Ministries, the Lay Leader or a designated meeting presider." The motion was seconded and approved.

Rev. Smith made a motion that the revised charter be submitted to the Rules committee. The motion was seconded and approved unanimously.

Rev. Smith noted that today's meeting link will be the recurring link for our future Common Table meetings. The dates for future meetings will be:

September 26, 2020

November 24, 2020

February 20, 2021

March 30, 2021

It was decided the recommended reading, *The Thin Book of Trust* by Charles Feltman will be divided among the Wesley groups used to review the charter. Each group will present their assigned section.

It was noted that Rev. Jonathan Page and Ms. Unsil Choi have completed their service to the Common Table. Both were thanked for the work they have done for the Annual Conference.

Rev. Smith adjourned the meeting at 12:17.